Dandelion Shortbread Cookies

Since the Dandelions are still poppin’ out there–now is the time to scoop some up to cook with, bake with, and/or create with. In the past, I’ve used Dandelion for salves, teas, lip balm, and syrup. In my foraging groups right now–people are deep frying the heads!? I am curious–but, more curious about the eating, not the making. šŸ™‚ There are SO many Dandelion recipes out there–if you’re curious to play around, you should definitely do an internet search. Most recipes are simple enough, and require pretty basic ingredients.

The favorite Dandelion creation with the kids though? Shortbread cookies. The Dandelions don’t weigh the cookies down with their flavor, as much as they add a hint of honey sweetness. They also do a fantastic job of adding just a bit of moisture to the cookies–without compromising the texture of a nice, crisp, shortbread. I, personally, LOVE the way the cookies look, too. The texture, and rustic-look, is beautiful.

The recipe is simple–only five ingredients. Originally, I got this recipe from Adamant Kitchen–they have other Dandelion recipes there too. šŸ™‚ (Here’s the link to the recipe.)

Here’s what you will need:

1 cup butter (softened)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 to 1 cup dandelion petals (yellow parts only)

2 1/2 cups flour

1 pinch salt

Here’s what to do:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Mix butter and sugar together, with a mixer, until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. (This is super important for that great texture. šŸ™‚ )

Add dandelion petals and beat to incorporate. (I just use a scissors to snip off the petals. Avoid getting to much of the green parts in your dough. They can taste a bit bitter.)

Gradually add flour and salt, beating to incorporate fully. (Dough will be crumbly at first, but it will start to come together.)

Once all the flour is added, beat on low another minute or so.

Knead gently with your hands until the dough comes together. (The dough should be easy to work with–no need to chill.)

Roll cookies out and cut out with your favorite cookie cutters.

Bake cookies at 325 for about 20 to 25 minutes, until they begin to brown on the bottoms and are fully cooked on the top.

Remove to a cooling rack and allow them to cool completely. Enjoy!

Here are a few pics and tips from me…

After collecting all of the petals I need, I lay them out flat for an hour, or so–just in case there are any little critters around, this gives them a chance to vacate the premise. šŸ˜‰
Before rolling out. I do sprinkle a bit of flour on top–just to keep my rolling pin from sticking.
After rolling out. This dough is so easy to work with. (And sensory friendly for someone like me–I can’t handle the super sticky stuff on my hands.)
Buttery, crispy…perfect for dipping in milk. šŸ™‚
These lasted ten minutes…
Bonus pic of my littlest helper. I could tell you he was helping pick Dandelions for me…but, in truth, he was digging little holes all over, looking for treasures. He found worms…it was as exciting as gold. ā¤

One Comment Add yours

  1. What a great use for the dandelions! I’ve made the wine, but never the cookies!

    Like

Leave a comment